MC's Music Notes Header


Hip Hop Honeys

Powered by Blogger

Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Reviews: Rising Down by The Roots

the roots rising down album

The legendary Roots crew from Philly dropped yet another musical journey this past Tuesday with their album entitled Rising Down. The album title comes from William T. Vollmann's treatise on violence entitled Rising Up and Rising Down. The release marks the 16th anniversary of the Los Angeles riots which were sparked by the Rodney King trial. Featured guests on the 14 track set include Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Common, Styles P, Saigon and Chrisette Michele.

Tracklist for Rising Down:

    1. The Pow Wow
    2. Rising Down featuring Mos Def & Styles P
    3. Get Busy featuring Dice Raw & Peedi Peedi
    4. @ 15
    5. 75 Bars (Black's Reconstruction)
    6. Becoming Unwritten
    7. Criminal featuring Truck North & Saigon
    8. I Will Not Apologize featuring Porn & Dice Raw
    9. I Can't Help It featuring Malik B., Porn, Mercedes Martinez & Dice Raw
    10. Singing Man featuring Porn, Truck North & Dice Raw
    11. Unwritten featuring Mercedes Martinez
    12. Lost Desire featuring Malik B. & Talib Kweli
    13. The Show featuring Common & Dice Raw
    14. Rising Up featuring Wale & Chrisette Michele

Here's 5 recent reviews of the new album:

Entertainment Weekly's Review

Pitchfork Media Review

Pop Matters Review

Rolling Stone Review

TV MSN Review

Rising Down is available at

Get Roots ringtones at Funtonia!

Lyrics for Get Busy by The Roots

Labels: , , ,

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
AddThis Feed Button