MC's Music Notes Header


Hip Hop Honeys

Powered by Blogger

Tuesday, September 01, 2009

Jay-Z Blueprint 3 Preview on MTV's The Leak

September 11th, comes 10 days early as MTV has a full album preview of the upcoming Jay-Z album "Blueprint 3" which features his hit tracks "DOA (Death of Autotune)", "Run this Town" and the newest song leaked on the net featuring Drake, "Off That". It seems on this album Jay-Z has gone for a more experimental and definitely crossover sound to appeal to a range of fans. On American Gangster it was straight Jay, just like back in the day. So this album might be closer to Kingdom Come than the original Blueprint.

Tracklist for Blueprint 3:

01. What We Talkin' About featuring Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun (4:03)
02. Thank You (4:09)
03. D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune) (4:15)
04. Run This Town featuring Rihanna and Kanye West (4:27)
05. Empire State of Mind featuring Alicia Keys (4:36)
06. Real as It Gets featuring Young Jeezy (4:12)
07. On to the Next One featuring Swizz Beatz (4:16)
08. Off That featuring Drake (4:06)
09. A Star Is Born featuring J. Cole (3:46)
10. Venus vs. Mars (3:10)
11. Already Home featuring Kid Cudi (4:29)
12. Haters featuring Kanye West (2:31)
13. Reminder (4:18)
14. So Ambitious featuring Pharell (4:12)
15. Young Forever featuring Mr. Hudson (4:11)

So far an early favorite is "Empire State of Mind" which praises Hov's homestate of NY. It features songstress Alicia Keys, and probably one of the best beats on the album so far featuring a funky piano in the back. Could easily see this one becoming a hot, chart topping single, if Hov chooses to unleash it. "Now you're in New York, these streets will make you feel brand new, big lights will inspire you...let's hear it for New York" Alicia sings in the boisterous and upbeat chorus. The final track featuring Mr. Hudson is yet another sample laced crossover style track with the "Forever Young" chorus you're likely to recognize. That may be a single, but who knows right now.

Enough about the album, judge for yourself based on the preview at MTV's The Leak.

Also, see Newsday's article discussing the upcoming NY benefit concert Jay is doing.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
AddThis Feed Button